The forums moved on March 1, 2021. Please read this page for more information.

the total amateur's guide to the scholar

40 posts / 0 new
Last post
ewokalypse
the total amateur's guide to the scholar

I can't pretend to anything like flamethrower49's expertise with the game, but here in embryonic form is a collection of thoughts I've had about The Scholar since I started playing Shattered Timelines.
-----
THE BASICS

As I see it, The Scholar will primarily follow one of two primary routes through a given game—tanking and counterpunching.

Tanking

He can tank with Flesh to Iron(s) and use his play phase to boost/shield other characters with Don’t Dismiss Anything, Proverbs and Axioms, and Alchemical Redirection—the “tank-and-crank” strategy.  The Scholar will vacuum up damage and effectively give everybody else double turns.

A slight variation on this is the “tank-and-bank”—focus on mass card drawing (Bring What You Need, Know When to Hold Tight) and await the right moment to deploy Know When to Cut Loose.  I think this is generally suboptimal when done in place of tuning up the other heroes, but against certain villains (particularly ones who have a built-in waiting game like Dawn and Spite), strategic deployment will make inevitable victory a mathematical certainty.

Counterpunching

Flesh to Liquid(s) + Flesh to Energy(s) makes The Scholar a punching-bag that punches back.  He’s still tanking, after a fashion, but instead of shrugging the damage off, he's using it as fuel for a heal-to-damage attack through his base power or “Get Out of the Way!” or any out-of-turn healing from other heroes.  His health will yo-yo up and down from round to round, but, barring bad luck, he shouldn't be in real danger of dying; there are just too many ways for him to regain health.

ATTACKING