The forums moved on March 1, 2021. Please read this page for more information.

The Scholar and Uncle Iroh (avatar the last airbender)

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Odin
Odin's picture
The Scholar and Uncle Iroh (avatar the last airbender)

Before I start, I do not know if there is another post on this or if anyone else has noticed it. This is the first thread I have posted so if it has already been addressed or I placed it it the wrong section please move it. Thank you!

Before I started playing SOTM, I watched a lot of Avatar and when I recieved the Scholar the connection was instantaneous. Another friend of mine noticed it as well. Here are a couple pictures of Iroh.

First, physical similarities. Both Iroh and The scholar are heavy old men (well iroh was until he went to jail). Second personality similarities, both are laid back humorous guys. Not to mention both are BA. Both are the archetypal wise old men figures that give other characters advice and pick them up when they have been defeated (art on Don't Dismiss Anything).

Card references and clues:

His incapacitated side shows scholar shirtless and seemingly jacked (similar to iroh when he goes to jail). It also shows in the back the symbols for the four elements fire, water, air and earth which play a large part in avatar. Uncle iroh paints almost these exact same symbols in the dirt for Zuko, his nephew. Now I realize that the philosopher's stone gives him power over these but with the other cards I feel it isn't simply a coincidence.

Know When To Hold Fast: Shows the scholar relaxing on a ship. Iroh often does the same in the first book of Avatar. Also his home is a boat, the same as Iroh and Zuko as they search and later chased the avatar.

Expect The Worst: the flavor text states that he was consumed in flames yet not injured. Iroh is a fire bender or someone who can control fire. Also interesting to note, other than in the three elemental cards adam depicts the scholar using fire or lightening.