The forums moved on March 1, 2021. Please read this page for more information.

Order of Play -- "Interrupting" Powers

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
robb8888
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 1 month ago
Joined: Nov 16, 2015
Order of Play -- "Interrupting" Powers

This is something that's come up in our group a couple of times, and wanted to be sure we were doing it right:

The rules (p. 8) state, "Power resolution can be done mostly simultaneously. When timing becomes important, Powers may be resolved in whatever order the players want, so long as no Power interrupts another partway through."

  1. How does this work with Innate powers that have multiple effects/threshholds?  Is the entire text below the innate considered a single power?  One prime example of this is Sharp Fangs' Ranging Hunt, a fast power which reads "[2 Animal].  You may Gather 1 Beast.  [3 Animal/2 Plant] 1 Damage per Beast.  [3 Animal] You may Push up to 2 Beasts."  Could another Fast Power take place between (ex:) the Gather and the Damage, or the Damage and the Push, or would that be "interrupting" the power partway through?
  2. Assuming the answer to (1) is "No, you can't do that," (which is how we've been playing it), does it make a difference if the Innate has a "Repeat" clause?  For example, Spread of Rampant Green's Slow power "Creepers Tear Into Mortar" reads:  "[1 Moon/2 Plant] 1 Damage to 1 Town/City.  [2 Moon/3 Plant] Repeat this Power.  [3 Moon/4 Plant]  Repeat this Power again."  Are the "repeats" considered part of the power, and all have to be carried out before other effects can take place, or are the repeats separate instances?  We've been playing this the latter way, with the repeats as separate instances, and allowing other Powers to take effect between the "repeat"s.     

Thanks!
 

 

dpt
dpt's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 months 3 weeks ago
Playtester
Joined: Aug 06, 2013

1. Yes, the entire text below the innate is one single power.

2. The Repeat is an instruction on the card, and must be obeyed immediately, so you can't have another power in between. Contrast this with Vital Strength of Earth's innate, which explicitly instructs you to Repeat a power sometime this turn; in that case other powers can come in between the original Power and the Repeat.

But I'm also struggling to think of an instance where it really matters for Creepers Tear into Mortar. And if it makes play easier, feel free to play the other way, it's not going to throw off the balance.

carnilius
Offline
Last seen: 11 months 20 hours ago
Playtester
Joined: Feb 11, 2014

dpt wrote:

I'm also struggling to think of an instance where it really matters for Creepers Tear into Mortar.

Creepers Tear into Mortar does 2 damage to a City.  Bringer of Dreams and Nightmares destroys the city for fear costing only 1 damage.  Creepers Tear into Mortar finishes the job with the last damage.

Eric R
Offline
Last seen: 9 months 6 days ago
Game DesignerPlaytester
Joined: Sep 28, 2014

carnilius wrote:

dpt wrote:

 

I'm also struggling to think of an instance where it really matters for Creepers Tear into Mortar.

 

Creepers Tear into Mortar does 2 damage to a City.  Bringer of Dreams and Nightmares destroys the city for fear costing only 1 damage.  Creepers Tear into Mortar finishes the job with the last damage.

Indeed, that's not allowed. While Repeats are considered a separate use of the Power, they must occur directly after the original use (and any effects triggered by it - eg, Vengeance of the Dead) finishes resolving.

(This timing will be clarified in the Jagged Earth rulebook.)

dpt
dpt's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 months 3 weeks ago
Playtester
Joined: Aug 06, 2013

Ah, very good, thanks. But unfortunately, no, that's not possible.