The forums moved on March 1, 2021. Please read this page for more information.

Oblivaeon would have been fine...

39 posts / 0 new
Last post
massimokriya
Oblivaeon would have been fine...

with 1 environment and 1 scion, the missions, and a whole lot less of "if...then" cards.  I feel as if more than every other card has checks for: if a target enters play, if someone takes damage, if the coffee is ready, and if you've taken out the trash.

as a big fan of every single deck and card, and every expansion of SotM that came out so far, I honestly do not understand why this humongous mode was created. 

it feels like a deranged version of Excel, which randomly shifts rows and columns every time you enter a number.

I like to play complicated board games, I have a PhD in physics, I do not lack the brain capacity, but this is not SotM. it's as if you took the single very slight weakness of SotM, which showed occasionally in certain deck combinations (bookeeping) and decided to create a game entirely around it.

am I supposed to feel like I'm saving the multiverse? I feel as if I'm studying for an actuarial certification. I think I had more fun studying calculus in my first year at university, my least favorite math subject.

so, if you like Oblivaeon, great for you. I'm not here to change your mind. and if you disagree, I'm interested in hearing why you like Oblivaeon. I'm only here to tell the game designers what I think. I'll always be a great admirer of Chris' work in designing SotM, but not of Oblivaeon.