The forums moved on March 1, 2021. Please read this page for more information.

Complexity: AA vs Unity

16 posts / 0 new
Last post
MsbS
MsbS's picture
Complexity: AA vs Unity

I am a SotM noob, I've played maybe 10-12 games so far, and only 3-4 games with non-Core characters. Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but I find Unity (complexity 2) more difficult to play than Argent Adept (complexity 3). Yes, AA does need a bit of setup (Melody/Harmony/Rhythm/Instrument), but it is easier to grasp than the 'play equipment, then scrap it for a golem' mechanics. I think AZ iz more difficult to play than AA, with the Ice/Fire interplay and self-damage. Maybe it's about how complex they are to play well (making AA easy to pick up and difficult to master)?

Oh yeah, and I failed 2 games against Ambuscade, who's Difficulty 1 - swamped with devices, cloaks, mines. But I just beat him easily with AA/Wraith/Fixer/Expatriette/Legacy this time, so no reason to whine about that :)

pwatson1974
pwatson1974's picture
Playtester

AA is high complexity more for the option space he inhabits. With three cards (Lyre, Supertonic, Inventive Preparation) he can be giving soemone else a power card and play on all his turns. And that only expands as his gets set up. You can do so many different things that it can lead t9 options paralysis, especially when you’re kicking off a chain of abilities.

Additionally, his Cadence means you have to make five decisions about what goes into play and what into where in his deck. It can take a while, even with an experiend player. Especially if she then chains them(mentioning no Ameena’s). 

Aditional aditionality, Argent needs to know what everyone else can do. By himself he”s lackluster. He’s team support, so you need to be able to take in much more of the table set up. Unity can focus entirely on herself, with only the occasional “it it ok if I destroy that to bring out a bot?” question.

G+ games: I am part of the 100%

FearLord