The forums moved on March 1, 2021. Please read this page for more information.

Best 4 Player Teams

31 posts / 0 new
Last post
penta
Best 4 Player Teams

Hey Guys,

I'm fairly new to the game (just got the expansions) and I'm wondering what are some of the better 4 player teams that are worth playing and what makes them so good? Just looking for some greater understanding of the game. Thanks guys,

celette482

*crackles knuckles*

Just kidding. So, when I first started playing this game, this was the first card game like this I'd ever played (my partner had some Magic experience). What I DID have was JRPG experience.

Instead of thinking which heroes do I want, you could look at it as "which skils do I absolutely have to have?" and the basics are:

damage reduction/ redirection/ tanking (Legacy's Lead from the Front, Wraith's Smoke Bombs, Haka's... well he's got a card, AZ, Scholar, etc)

large amounts of single target damage (Ra, Expatriette with the right stuff, Legacy-but that's not what he's really for, Wraith with the right stuff, etc)

AOE (TEMPEST, Wraith)

environment/ongoing destruction (Wraith's grappling hook; AA's Sarabande, Tempest's Into the Stratosphere, Expatriette's RPG launcher, etc)

Deck management (Visionary esp, Wraith)

Notice Wraith comes up every time.

Tanking in SotM is complicated because it's really more about damage redirection, and a lot of cards are specific about the type of damage you can redirect. Haka, for example, redirects environment, while Legacy redirects villain. Other characters, like AZ and the Scholar, tank by consistently being the highest HP. So when you want to tank, you have to think "how am I going to get the damage to that person?" and sometimes your teammate choices come around that way.