The forums moved on March 1, 2021. Please read this page for more information.

A very close game that turned around

1 post / 0 new
broccoli
broccoli's picture
Playtester
A very close game that turned around

So right about the time I started playtesting for IR, I moved to a new city, and I live alone.  As a result, I started playing lots of solo games, and I found that I actually liked doing it.  As a result, when my job started making me travel a lot, I started bringing my cards with me and playing in the hotels in the evenings.  After playing lots of carefully crafted teams, I decided I wanted more challenge and variety, so I started using Spiff's Randomizer to pick my heroes, villains, environments, and even the hero turn order.  The following is one such session.

Villain: The Matriarch

Environment: Realm of Discord

Heroes (in turn order): Absolute Zero (AZ), Argent Adept (AA), Ra, Visionary

Well, no "tough" heroes to soften the blows (Ta Moka, Fortitude, etc.), so it seemed like my best option would be to try for Twist the Ether on Matriarch, to channel her damage into cold, which Absolute Zero could absorb.  I set about my task, but things went wrong right from the start.  The Matriarch got out something like 8 birds on turn 1, which I foolishly killed (along with her Mask), just before Darken the Skies.  I killed her Mask a total of 3 times, and each time, she drew Darken the Skies the next turn.  She also got out the dual cohorts relatively early.  The team finally died due to an avian explosion aided by a Carrion Fields (but they would have died to the birds themselves if they hadn't killed them).

No problem, I'd try again.

The first game I used Visionary's Enlighten on a couple of different heroes, but she never got Twist the Ether, so this game I resolved to use it only on her until she found Twist the Ether.

Rematch: