The forums moved on March 1, 2021. Please read this page for more information.

Best Heroes/Villians for 2, 3, 4, and 5 Hero Games

28 posts / 0 new
Last post
SuperRick
SuperRick's picture
Best Heroes/Villians for 2, 3, 4, and 5 Hero Games

As I'm new to this, I'm just wondering what you guys think about what heroes and villians are best to play in 2, 3, 4, and 5 hero games.

As far as the 2 player element, I'm talking about 2 heroes (not 2 players and 3 heroes), as in the 2 hero variant that is on BGG (http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/872326/my-journey-to-find-the-best-rules-for-a-2-players).

So, for clarification, if you could only play with 2 heroes, which ones would it be?  And which villian would you fight?

It seems to me that as far as villians go, 2 players agains Baron Blade or Ambuscade would be a solid matchup.  From everything I've heard you wouldn't want to take on the Chairman with less than 4.

It also seems like you wouldn't want to go into a fight with a heavy tank/controller like Legacy or Visionary if you only had 2 heroes.  I don't know, just wondering what you guys think.

Foote
Foote's picture
PlaytesterHarmony

SuperRick wrote:

So, for clarification, if you could only play with 2 heroes, which ones would it be?  And which villian would you fight?

As you probably already know, 2 hero games are not an officially supported play format. Any 2 hero varients need to be heavily houseruled to prevent the [H] mechanic, and the rest of the game, from breaking down. My answer has to be "none" for that reason, but you are welcome to experiment.

The best way for two players to play is by running 2 heros each. Or there is a popular "sidekick" varient where each player only runs 1 deck each and you bring along one incapped hero setting [H]=3 which doesn't require heavy houseruling.

SuperRick wrote:

From everything I've heard you wouldn't want to take on the Chairman with less than 4.