The forums moved on March 1, 2021. Please read this page for more information.

Shadows Flicker Like Flame ....setup question

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
TrueNorth
Shadows Flicker Like Flame ....setup question

I'm sorry I have to ask this, I am just learning the game. I know this is likely an simple that I am overthinking buuuut, here goes....I am trying to set up SFLF and the card says; " Put 3 Presence on your starting board. 2 in the highest numbered jungle and 1 in Land #5"

What and where is "Land #5" ?

Does it mean any space on the island with a #5 on it ?

Thanks in advance for your help

grysqrl
grysqrl's picture
ModeratorPlaytester

Each space on the island is called a land. The lands on each island board are numbered (1-8 on the standard side). The initial presence placement rules are typically based on terrain, but often care about other things, such as the land number (as in this case) or the presence of Dahan.

An example: if you are setting up Shadows on board A, you would place two presence in land number 8 (the highest-numbered jungle) and one presence in land number 5 (a wetland in this case, but that isn't relevant). In a multi-spirit game, all initlial presence you place is on your starting board only, unless otherwise specified (currently only Sharp Fangs, from the Branch and Claw expansion).

Does this help?

Ameena
Ameena's picture
Playtester

What Grysqrl said, to which I will add the clarification that your setup text does specify to put the Presence "on your starting board", so whicihever board you start on, that's where it goes - so far I believe the only spirit that gets the option to have Presence on any other board at the start is the aforementioned Sharp Fangs, who can put one in any land that has a Beast in it, and for whom the setup text does specify that this one goes "anywhere on the island".